Glory 50 Results

James Law, Glory Sports International

Glory Kickboxing delivered their first event of 2018 last night with Glory 50 in Chicago.

The event featured two title fights. The main card was headlined by a welterweight title fight between Murthel Groenhart and Harut Grigorian and the Super Fight Series featured a lightweight title fight between Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong and Christina Baya.

Gorenhart and Grigorian are no strangers, having fought twice before with Groenhart winning both fights by stoppage. Their second fight set the internet on fire with its controversial ending. Grigorian has turned his back during the fight to walk away, Gorenhart seized the opportunity and knocked him out. Despite the attack being legal, many people claimed it a cheap shot and Groenhart was attacked in the ring by fans.

Groenhart came in the favorite, but Grigorian had none of it. He took the fight to Groenhart early and won by TKO at 2:06 of the first round. A sizzling combination of body shots and punches to the head put Groenhart down. He was able to beat the count and when the fight resumed a Grigorian pounced and hurt Groenhart with punches again. Groenhart was on wobbly legs when referee Chris Wagner stepped in to stop the fight. The stoppage had some fans upset, claiming it was early. Despite the controversial stoppage, Harut Grigorian is now the new Glory welterweight champion.

James Law, Glory Sports International
James Law, Glory Sports International

In the lightweight title fight, Sitthichai continued his reign a top of the division. He outclassed the Baya throughout the fight. It doesn’t seem like any lightweight on the Glory roster will be able to take the lightweight title away from Sitthichai, with his third title defense in the books it seems that he will be holding on to that championship for quite some time unless Glory brings in some new talent.

James Law, Glory Sports International
James Law, Glory Sports International

Benjamin Adegbuyi looked unstoppable in the heavyweight tournament. Stopping D’Angelo Marshall and Junior Tafa. After defeating Marshall 30 seconds into the opening round he was set to face off against Guto Inocente in the tournament final, but a cut suffered by Inocente in his semi-final fight with Tafa kept him out of the final. Tafa stepped in as the replacement and was stopped by Adegbuyi with leg kicks.

In other fights, Richard Abraham took home a unanimous decision win over Malik Watson-Smith. After a strong first round, Watson-Smith seemed to lose a little steam, while Abraham started to turn up the pressure. Watson-Smith began holding and was eventually deducted two points, one in the second round and one in the third sealing his fate and giving Abraham the win.

Glory 50 Results:
Harut Grigorian def. Murthel Groenhart by TKO (Referee Stoppage) at 2:06 of Rd. 1 – Wins Glory Welterweight Championship
Richard Abraham def. Malik Watson-Smith via Unanimous Decision

Heavyweight Tournament Semi-Finals
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. D’Angelo Marshall via KO at 0:30 of Rd. 1
Guto Inocente def. Junior Tafa via Unanimous Decision

Heavyweight Tournament Final
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Junior Tafa via TKO (Leg Kicks) at 0:34 of Rd. 1

Super Fight Series
Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong def. Christian Baya via Unanimous Decision – Retains Glory Lightweight Championship
Haze Wilson vs. Anthony McDonald canceled due to health concerns (McDonald had high blood pressure)
Omar Moreno def. Casey Greene via Extra Round Decision
Omari Boyd def. Daniel Morales via Split Decision
Diego Llamas def. Justin Houghton via TKO (punches) at 1:40 of Rd. 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.