Glory 48 Results

Glory 48 took place today from the Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York and two new champions were crowned.

In the main event of the Glory 48 main card, Kevin VanNostrand and Anvar Boynazarov fought for the interim featherweight title. It was a short but exciting fight as Boynazarov struck first by dropping VanNostrand with a punch. After recovering VanNostrand delivered a knee to the liver that didn’t seem to cause damage, but a few seconds later Boynazarov dropped to his knees in pain. Just like that it was over and VanNostrand was the new Glory featherweight interim champion. Up next for him should be a showdown with featherweight champion Robin van Roosmalen.

The Glory Super Fight series featured Tiffany Van Soest putting her women’s super bantamweight title on the line against Anissa Meksen. Van Soest had looked great in all of her Glory fights, seemingly out classing her opponents, but Meksen was having none of it. She out struck Van Soest for the majority of the fight and when it was over the judges agreed as she was awarded a unanimous decision to become the new women’s super bantamweight champion.

Glory 48 also featured a middleweight tournament which saw Rob Thomas and Mike Lemaire meet in the final. Both had won their semi-final bouts by decision, but in the final Thomas made sure he had a clear cut and decisive victory as he knocked out Lemaire early in the third round.

There were also two UFC veteran in action at the event, and both were victorious. Thiago Silva defeated John King by unanimous decision and Chris Camozzi defeated Kyle Weickhardt by TKO.

Glory 48 Results
Kevin VanNostrand def. Anvar Boynazarov via KO at 1:06 of Rd. 1 – Wins Interim Featherweight Championship
Thiago Silva def. John King via Unanimous Decision

Middleweight Tournament Final
Robert Thomas def. Mike Lemaire via KO at 0:18 of Rd. 3

Middleweight Tournament Semi-Finals
Robert Thomas def. Wayne Barrett via Unanimous Decision
Mike Lemaire def. Matt Baker via Extra Round Decision

Super Fight Series Results
Anissa Meksen def. Tiffany Van Soest via Unanimous Decision – Wins Super Bantamweight Championship
Chris Camozzi def. Kyle Weickhardt via TKO (Corner Stoppage) at 3:00 of Rd. 2
Elvis Gashi def. Nate Richardson via Unanimous Decision
Ivan Galaz def. Paul Banasiak via Majority Decision
Itay Gershon def. Justin Houghton via Unanimous Decision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.