Glory 41 Results and Recap

Rico Verhoeven vs. Ismael Lazaar

Glory 41 took place today at the Brabanthallen Exhibition Centre in Den Bosch, Netherlands.

The main attraction of the night was Rico Verhoeven, “The King of Kickboxing” taking on Ismael Lazaar in a non-title bout.

This fight played out as most expected. Verhoeven used his height and reach advantage to keep a safe distance from Lazaar and score with his strikes. Verhoeven looked sharp as he worked his jab and kicks throughout the fight. To Lazaar’s credit, he proved his toughness as he kept moving forward the entire fight. In the end Verhoeven was just too skilled and big for Lazaar. Verhoeven has now won seven straight and has not lost since 2015.

Robin van Roosmalen and Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao fought for the vacant featherweight title, and this fight is sure to draw plenty of criticism. Petchpanomrung fired off kick after kick at van Roosmalen, but many connected on his arm. The big debate has always been if that should count, and in this fight the judges saw it as a no. Van Roosmalen stalked Petchpanomrung throughout the fight, while Petchpanomrung was counter fighting. In the third round Petchpanomrung was deducted a point by the referee for clinching, but it was unnecessary as there was no excessive clinching going on. In the end van Roosmalen claimed the title with majority decision win.

Murthel Groenhart and Alan Scheinson almost came to blows at the weigh-in and that animosity carried over into their fight. Groenhart came out looking to take Scheinson’s head off. Everything he threw was with bad intentions, while Scheinson focused more on volume. He connected with more strikes, but when Groenhart connected there was power behind them. In the second a head kick from Groenhart wobbled Scheinson and it should have been considered a knock down because Scheinson’s right glove touched the canvas, but the referee didn’t count it. After three rounds Groenhart took one step closer in his road to a title shot as the judges awarded him a split decision.

In the night’s heavyweight tournament D’Angelo Marshall and Anderson Silva met in the finals after both scored knock outs in the tournament semi-finals. Marshall knocked out Mohamed Abdallah in the first round, while Silva knocked out Giannis Stoforidis in round 2. In the final, Marshall pulled off the upset and out struck tournament favorite Silva to win the tournament.

Glory 41 Results:

Main Card:
Hesdy Gerges def. Tomas Hron via Unanimous Decision
Chenglong Zhang def. Wilson Sanches Mendes via Unanimous Decision

Heavyweight Tournament Semi-Finals
D’Angelo Marshall def. Mohamed Abdallah via KO at 0:48 of Rd. 1
Anderson Silva def. Giannis Stoforidis via KO at 2:26 of Rd. 2

Heavyweight Tournament Final
D’Angelo Marshall def. Anderson Silva via Unanimous Decision

Super Fight Series
Murthel Groenhart def. Alan Scheinson via Split Decision
Mourad Bouzidi def. Michael Duut via Disqualification at 2:18 of Rd. 2
Tyjani Beztati def. Youssef Assouik via Unanimous Decision
Zakaria Zouggary def. Yetkin Ozkul via Unanimous Decision



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.