Glory 38: Chicago Fight Card

Glory 38 Fight Card

Glory returns to the Sears Centre in Hoffman Estates, Illinois on February 24, 2017 for Glory 38.

The main even will feature a rubber match between current champion Artem Vakhitov and former champion Saulo Cavalari. The pair split the first two fights with Cavalari winning the first bout by split deision and Vakhitov the second bout by unanimous decision.

Vakhitov will be looking to make his second successful title defense since winning the title from Cavalari back in March of 2016. His latest victory came at Glory 35 when he scored a (T)KO victory over Zack Mwekassa. Cavalari last competed at Glory 34 where he defeated Brian Douwes by unanimous decision to earn his re-match.

Chicago’s Richard Abraham will be fighting France’s Antoine Pinto in the co-main event. Abraham has won four consecutive fights in the Glory ring with his latest being a unanimous decision over Mike Mathetha at Glory 34. Pinto will be making his debut for the promotion. He brings a tremendous amount of experience from Thailand where he is a mainstay for the promotion Thai Fight.

Rounding out the main card will be a light heavyweight contender tournament featuring Danyo Ilunga vs. Ariel Machado and Zack Mwekassa vs. a soon to be announced opponent.

The Super Fight Series will be headlined by Benjamin Adegbuyi and Anderson Silva. Since losing in a title fight against Glory heavyweight champion Rico Verhoeven, Adegbuyi has quietly put together a five fight win streak. Three of those have come outside of Glory, but his last two were part of the Glory heavyweight tournament. Silva will be looking to rebound from his failed bid to capture Glory gold against Verhoeven.

The Glory 38 main card will air live on ESPN 3 and the Super Fight Series portion will air live on UFC Fight Pass.

Glory 38

Main Card
Artem Vakhitov (c) vs. Saulo Cavalari – For Glory Light Heavyweight Championship
Richard Abraham vs. Antoine Pinto

Light Heavyweight Tournament Semi-Finals
Danyo Ilunga vs. Ariel Machado
Zack Mwekassa vs. TBA

Super Fight Series

Benjamin Adegbuyi vs. Anderson Silva
Catalin Morosanu vs. Maurice Greene
Murthel Groenhart vs. Thongchai Sitsongpeenong
Pawel Jedrzejczyk vs. Daniel Morales
Lukasz Plawecki vs. Niclas Larsen


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.